National Orchestra Festival

The National Orchestra Festival® is an annual festival held in conjunction with the ASTA National Conference. The NOF brings together orchestras from around the country to a single location in order to provide an unparalleled opportunity to receive placement, ratings, comments and education from leading clinicians and adjudicators in the industry. Orchestras are selected to participate in the national festival based on their application and supporting materials. The festival encompasses Youth Orchestras, Middle School Orchestras, and High School Orchestras in their choice of Competition, Ratings and/or Comments categories. All festival groups receive feedback from invited adjudicators. Each group also receives an educational clinic directly after its performance from one of two clinicians. Each participating student will also receive the opportunity to attend any educational session associated with the conference. Special education sessions will be presented specifically for the NOF participant.

Competitive groups perform for placement within their own division: Middle School, High School, or Youth Orchestra. The NOF has two Grand Champions, both of whom play in the NOF Concert on Saturday of the conference and is open to all attendees of the National Conference. There will be a Grand Champion for the Public School Division and one from the Private School/Youth Orchestra Division. All NOF performances are open to other festival groups and conference attendees.

ASTA National Office
4155 Chain Bridge Rd.
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 279-2113 ext. 20 

Important Note (Effective starting May 2008)

Individual students from your participating National Orchestra Festival group may not also participate in the finals of the National Solo Competition, or the National High School Honors Orchestra in the same conference year. This participation restriction is due to overlapping schedules which will cause disruption to the overall experience for all participants.